August 12, 2007

Don’t take it personal(ly)

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:32 pm by sonofthed

It should be personally, not personal. Correct?  Since take is a verb and personally would be the adverb. Personal would be an adjective..and that would be wrong.

Anyway, if what I’m about to say applies to you, please don’t take it personally. It’s just a general sentiment that I’ve been meaning to express lately. There are so many adults (grown-ass people) that have problems with simple spelling/grammar. Some would call me a grammar Nazi, but I don’t think I’m that critical. I mean, I don’t always point out the adjective/adverb confusion like I did above. I don’t even know that many grammar rules, that one just always sticks out to me. What I do have a problem with is people my age or older than me using “your” constantly instead of “you’re.” This bothers me because it is so basic and you learn it at such a young age. It’s just a glaring error to me. I see it all the time. IM’s, txt messages, emails. “Your right”….does that mean I am right or does that refer to my right??

I see misspellings at work all the time and it pisses me off. Why? Because the people doing the screwups are the ones who have the degrees and who probably feel like they’re superior or more intelligent than me because they work in the office and I work on the manufacturing floor.  Useing? Suppermarket? Flamming? Gimme a break.

We’re all adults, and to me you just lose a little bit of credibility when you can’t figure out that the contraction for you + are = you’re. If you have a college degree and you are preparing your resume in order to find employment and you ask me to look it over because “your better at spelling than me” then we have a problem. People say I make too big of a deal out of it and they’re like “oh you know what I mean.” Well, yeah. I do know what you mean. But if you can’t grasp simple elementary school grammar and spelling, then what other basic skills do you lack? Can you add and subtract? We’re supposed to be grown-ups and if my little sister can compose a grammatically correct sentence and you can’t do it if your life depends on it, then re-evaluate how much of an adult you really are. It doesn’t take any skill, talent, or intelligence to grow older.

So if this does not apply to you, then kudos. Keep up the good work. And if it does, then don’t take it personally. Just pay more attention and strive to be accurate. People look at you a lot differently if you can’t spell. I’m not perfect, none of us are. And in casual converation, I understand that people are more relaxed. But for me it just comes natural. I might use slang or shorthand but I don’t all of a sudden become a 2nd grader.

So final thoughts for the day:

YOU + ARE = YOU’RE
SECOND PERSON POSSESSIVE = YOUR    

Watch out for then vs. than
Watch out for to vs. too vs. two

Watch out for pickpockets

peace, love n blessings

3 Comments »

  1. Megan said,

    And in casual converation, I understand that people are more relaxed.

  2. megan's friend said,

    I must tell you that I definitly agree with you. And Megan is right… you misspelled conversation. Oh, you should post a blog about then vs. than… because I’m not sure when to use than and it would be great help to read about it.

    Thanks…

  3. sonofthed said,

    I also said comes natural instead of comes naturally. It’s the your vs you’re that hurts my soul.


Leave a Reply

